Challenges, Photography, Writing
Comments 8

Crochet

Crochet

My mother taught me the basics of knit and crochet as a child. As I watched her crocheting I wanted to try too. Not only I enjoyed arty-crafty work, but I loved romantic look and feel of lace doily crochet, fairytalish style  🙂

Creative fulfillment, happiness, working on something you enjoy result in creating a better mood, offers an opportunity for self expression, replacing stress and anxiety with the satisfaction of creation.

crochet

(my mother’s handmade lace doily)

I have beautiful collection of wonderful crocheted doilies, tablecloths, sets, that my mother made for me, and I know they weren’t made to be stored in a drawer or a box forever, but I like to keep them safely stored as precious gifts.

Relaxed, repetitive motions such as the ones used in crochet and knitting can help calm and induce a relaxed state like that associated with meditation and yoga.

You may also like Framed Crochet and  Embroidery

8 Comments

  1. I couldn’t agree more! I am a very anxious person and yoga and meditation help me a ton. I have about a year ago started hand sewing and it gives the same effect. I did try crochet once, but it was too complex for me to take on. Maybe someday I’ll try it again.
    Your mom’s doily is gorgeous by the way.

    Like

  2. That is some beautiful crochet. Amazing work and they all look like they are made with love – and I am sure they are since you are very much passionate about it 🙂 When we are passionate about something enough, we will find joy in every moment of it. I used to do cross stitch when I was younger, and yes, it can get repetitive when you are making a large patch of the same colour. But it thought me patience and hard work brings results 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Framed Crochet |

  4. iheartcrochet09gmailcom says

    Its amazing, very good crochet artist wish i can make that kind of amazing crochet work..

    Like

  5. Pingback: Nostalgia |

  6. Sel says

    Such a meticulous work.I wish your mother would give you the instructions of the doily to post. I just fell in love with it. Simply marvellous

    Like

Inspire Me! Thank you for your comment.

